image

2017 has been a real treat for Rachel Vincent fans – Vincent has released 4 new publications all within the span of a few months, meaning that we’ve all been spoilt for choice as for what to read next.

image

I decided to go with ‘Brave New Girl’, as I was really intrigued by the blurb. I loved the idea behind this one – all the futuristic technology and messing with genes and the idea of the perfect designer baby that could be cloned to produce workers… I just really loved the concept, and Vincent executed this perfectly. The setting was so well done and it was so easy to picture this world that Dhalia 16 lived in. I really loved this whole idea! This really reminded me of Margaret Atwood’s ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’, and a film called ‘The Island’ featuring Ewan McGregor which has a very similar concept. If you liked those kind of stories you are definitely going to love this one!

Dhalia 16 was a cute character to read about – mainly because of so much innocence that was conveyed through her character’s perspective of the world around her. All of the clones grow up believing 100% that everything they’ve been taught about their way of life is correct, and no one questions whether this is really true. There was a little aspect to the narrative that was a little slow or stilted, which I think was mainly down to Dhalia’s characterisation – but Vincent captured this sheltered individual perfectly and how she described things later on in the novel made it clear she comes from a completely different world to us. I found it strange that I had a feel of the narrative coming across as slow at points because that wasn’t for a lack of plot – I really do think this was more down to Dhalia’s character, and this was a necessary evolution of the plot as she lives such a sheltered life with everything planned out for her. She’s never had to make any real decisions that affect anything in her life on a major scale, as have neither of her clones.

I really loved the plot development, and the innocent romance between Trigger 17 and Dhalia 16. Things plotted out nicely along the narrative timeline and things escalated to a point I hadn’t seen coming – I’d expected a typical dystopian world outside of the sheltered one that Dhalia 16 knew, and we somewhat got overtones of that but in a more futuristic setting – maybe before the crux of the story world falling around our protagonist. I was still hooked to the page though, as the story was unraveling at a brilliant pace that fed you all the information you needed just at the right times.

Don’t even get me started on that ending – I was left gaping at the book at what Dhalia 16 discovered just before the end of the last page. It threw me off a bit because the pacing had been pretty standard up until this point and then Vincent throws a massive plot twist right at you that left me hungry to know more – plus from the excerpt of the next novel in the back of the book I was even more curious as to what to expect from the sequel.

Overall this was a brilliant concept that I absolutely loved, and I can’t wait to find out what else Vincent has in store for Dhalia 16. I would give it a 4/5, and you should definitely give this one a go if you like this type of fiction.

 

@rachelkvincent

http://www.rachelvincent.com/BNG.php

2 thoughts on “‘Brave New Girl’ Review

  1. Great review! I love books that leave me breathless at the end, and wow that cover art sure is eye catching! The whole “mess with people’s genetics and/or clone them” is one of my favorite subgenres of science fiction to read. So many possibilities, and so much that can go wrong. If you like that kind of thing too, you might enjoy Gemsigns by Stephanie Saulter, and Kiln People by David Brin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

