image

I absolutely love this series. I don’t know if I would have loved it so much if I’d started with the Throne of Glass series first, but I’m so glad I started with this one. I’ve always been a sucker for fantasies, and this story world is just up my alley.

I really love Feyre as a character – she’s got all the badasserry that I loved about Calaena before she became annoying, and there’s something about her character that just seems more genuine (though I was warming back up to Calaena in Queen of Shadows). I especially loved how beautifully vengeant she was towards Tamlin, more so because of how much I dislike his controlling character. I was a little worried that Maas would keep us in the Spring Court longer than she did, but the pacing throughout this novel was so well done and there was never a dull moment in the plot. There was always some key element to the story going on, which kept me glued to the page.

I did love this novel, but was a little worried as to whether Maas would drag out this war between Prythian and Hybern into more than this book – thankfully she didn’t, and ended it in such a beautiful way. Most of the novel saw Feyre and Rhysand preparing for this war, and the whole plot culminated in such a brutal way that I was absolutely terrified about what Maas was going to do with the characters – I was sat in tears for a good half an hour at one point towards the end of the novel and honest to God don’t think I’ve still recovered.

I love the overall feel to the story world, though this novel in particular felt a lot more political than the last two did. I was still engrossed as to what was going to happen, but there was still a light hearted aspect to the previous two novels that this one seemed to lack. I was so happy that Lucian stayed in the plot, as I thought Maas was going to try and blacken his name along with Tamlin – but thankfully that didn’t happen as I really do love his character.

The romance between Rhysand and Feyre is just perfect – I still find any kind of sex scene really cringey, but that’s mainly because they come across in such a voyeuristic way that it really feels unnecessary to the overall plot. We get it – they’re in love. You don’t need to spend several pages detailing what exactly they do when they’re in the bedroom to show us that.

As much as I cannot stand Tamlin’s character, he really redeemed himself in this novel for me. He started off being just as irritating as before, but with some key events that happened half way through the novel and one in particular towards the end, he wasn’t as annoying as he graciously accepted the fact Feyre was never going to come back to him. THANK GOD.

As awesome as the plot was, and as relieved as I was that Maas isn’t planning on dragging this war out across several more novels, I am a little curious to see where Maas is going to take this series next. She tied up so many plot threads in A Court Of Mist and Fury that it’ll be interesting to see her take a new direction with this series. I am so glad Maas didn’t go where I thought she was going to go with the ending though, because I don’t think I could have coped once I’d finished reading! I would give it a 5/5 because the story was pretty damn awesome, and the ending really traumatised me at points.

http://sarahjmaas.com/

@SJMaas

Leave a Reply

