image

If I liked the prequel to this novel, ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses, I looooooved the second novel in the series, ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’. This novel had everything I loved about the first novel in the series, but with more definition. This was a novel I found myself completely immersed in and couldn’t wait to find a spare minute to read it.

I looooved the characters in this novel – Rhysand was beautiful and I really loved his characterisation. I liked how Maas portrayed him as more vulnerable than he appears to be, and I looooved the romance! Maybe not the awkward purple prose sex scenes, but I could live with that. I loved Feyre’s characterisation in this novel as well – I loved that she finally stood up for herself rather than sit around like a wet lettuce! I was literally screaming with frustration at the first part of the novel set in the Spring Court – Tamlin was so controlling and abusive and it made me so angry that it took her so long to notice it. This really grated on me, as it was blatant sexist behaviour of the women are only meant to be pretty little ornaments that organise parties and become baby factories and NO. UGH. Thank God the novel moved away from that, because I don’t think I could have read much more of that than there was in the beginning. I didn’t particularly like the romance between Feyre and Tamlin in the previous novel, so was SO GLAD with what Maas did with the plot line in this novel. Tamlin is just so UGH GET OUT OF HERE.

I loved the characters in the Night Court – Mor, Amren, Cassian and Azriel – I really liked the bromance that was going on throughout and you really got a feel for how they acted towards one another. As much as I HATED what was happening in the Spring Court for this novel, I did love Lucien’s character in the previous novel so felt what Maas did with him was out of character – as much as I disliked Tamlin in this novel, what happened with his character progression did feel really out of character for him as well from the previous novel. Some could argue that the direction that Maas took this novel in felt a bit like taking a step backwards and going back to the start of ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’, but I am so glad she did it. The plot line in this novel made the story world feel way more immersive, as you were learning about it along with Feyre. I honest to God just LOVED IT.

I did wonder if Maas dragged out Feyre’s post traumatic stress episode longer than was necessary, but you can understand why she did this. It was necessary to fully immerse Feyre in her new place in the Faerie world. DO NOT get me started on Tamlin’s sexist “There are no High Ladies” – the fact that Tamlin was so blatantly controlling and sexist could also be argued to have been pushed too heavily so as to make Rhysand more appealing and understanding as a love interest, but I think this was necessary after building up the romance between Feyre and Tamlin in the previous novel.

I really loved this one – I got a real feel for the characters and the story just made them shine in all the right ways. Feyre’s sacrifice at the end of the novel was so heartbreaking too, but it made sense with where Maas wants to take the final novel in this series. I cannot stress how much I loved this novel! I can’t wait until May when I can read the next one! I would give it a 5/5, and can’t wait to make a start on Maas’ other series, ‘Throne of Glass’.

 

@SJMaas

sarahjmaas.com

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Court-Mist-Fury-Thorns-Roses/dp/140885788X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1479062840&sr=8-1&keywords=A+court+of+mist+and+fury

Leave a Reply

